Until today, I have had "Auto Idle Muting" switched off in my user preferences and it has been switched off since it was first introduced. I do not ever want this feature turned on as it ruins gather for our use case.
Today, I found that it had been switched on automatically, and so I switched it off, but then when I reconnected it turned itself on again.
It seems like a bug that a feature that I don't want keeps turning itself back on.